What Does It Mean When Someone Tags You?

How do you hide when someone mentions you in a comment on Facebook?

I don’t want my friends to see someone mention me in some post.

what can i do ?Click “V” at the top right of any Facebook page and select Settings.In the left-hand column, click Timeline and Tagging.Look for the setting Who can see posts you’ve been tagged in on your Timeline.

Choose “Only Me” from the dropdown menu..

What happens when you hide a comment you are tagged in?

To hide a comment, hover over the top-right hand “x” and click “Hide.” Now the post can only be seen by the person who wrote the comment and his or her friends. They’ll have no idea the post is hidden, and you can always click “Unhide” later if you like.

Does the order of friends on Facebook mean anything?

Your chat sidebar works in a similar way. The algorithm chooses interactions, activity, communication, photos, etc. This determines which friends will show up on top and have priority. The friends that you communicate with most often will usually be first on this list.

What does tagging mean in social media?

Definition: Tags allow social media users to engage an individual, business or any entity with a social profile when they mention them in a post or comment. In Facebook and Instagram, tagging notifies the recipient and hyperlinks to the tagged profile.

When you tag someone in a post who can see it?

When you tag someone, that photo or post may be shared with both the person tagged and their friends. This means that if you haven’t already included their friends in the audience, their friends may now be able to see it.

Can a blocked person see my posts if I tag a mutual friend?

Neither you nor the person you blocked can tag each other to posts. Also, the blocked user will NOT see posts you published with a mutual friend tagged. If a mutual friend posts on your wall, the person you blocked will know that the mutual friend posted something.

Can others see hidden comments on Facebook?

Hiding comments on Facebook will simply make the comment disappear from your point of view—the person who posted it as well as any common friends you share with them will still be able to view it. … You, the person who posted it, and the friends you have in common will no longer be able to see it.

What does it mean when someone tags you in Facebook?

What does it really mean to tag someone or be tagged on Facebook? When you tag someone in a status update, photo, video or comment you are basically getting their attention and letting them know you want them to see what you are tagging them in. By tagging them you are actually creating a link to that person’s profile.

Can your friends see if you are tagged in a comment?

This setting defaults to Friends, which means when you’re tagged in a post, you and your friends can see the post, even if they weren’t in the original audience. The post you’re tagged in may be shared with the original audience, as well as the friends you suggest.

What is the difference between sharing and tagging on Facebook?

Tagging is the act of tying a user account to a piece of content on Facebook, whereas sharing is the act of placing content on a user’s Timeline to appear in that user’s friends’ Timelines.

Can I prevent someone from tagging me on Facebook?

Unfortunately, you’re not able to prevent people from tagging you on Facebook.

What does it mean when someone tags you in a post?

Simply put, tagging identifies someone else in a post, photo or status update that you share. A tag may also notify that person that you have mentioned them or referred to them in a post or a photo, and provide a link back to their profile. You can tag someone in a photo that you share to identify them in the photo.

How do I stop someone from tagging me in a post?

Click the gear icon and select “Settings,” and then choose “Timeline and Tagging” from the menu. Click “Edit” next to “Review Posts Friends Tag You In Before They Appear on Your Timeline?” and enable the Timeline review feature from the drop-down menu. These settings will apply to posts on your own Timeline only.

Will someone know if I untag myself on Facebook?

No. Facebook notifies everyone who appears in a tag as per above but doesn’t notify if a tag is removed. Adding a tag has privacy implications, removing a tag does not, so no notification is necessary.

Who can see when someone mentions me in a comment?

Anyone who can see the comment (and the post it’s attached to) can also see the ‘mention’, which is analogous to a tag on a main post. However, you’re the only person who would get a ‘notification’, so otherwise it would be catch-as-catch-can as to whether other people would actually see it.